

## European Commission Establishes Fourteen Project Groups to Drive Key Priorities

January 14, 2025



European Commission President Ursula von der Leyen has established fourteen Project Groups to enhance coordination and ensure the effective delivery of key political priorities. These groups will focus on topical issues, cross-cutting initiatives, and horizontal policies, facilitating collaboration and ensuring consistency across various areas.

Each Project Group will have a specific mandate, composition, duration, and working methods, and will be chaired by a Member of the College, designated by President von der Leyen. These chairs will be responsible for the successful delivery of their respective group's mandate.

## **Key Project Groups and their Chairs:**

- Clean Industrial Deal: Co-chaired by Executive Vice-Presidents Teresa Ribera, Stéphane Séjourné, and Commissioner Wopke Hoekstra.
- **Artificial Intelligence:** Chaired by Executive Vice-President Henna Virkkunen.
- **External Action:** Chaired by High Representative/Vice-President Kaja Kallas.
- Skills, Jobs and Social Rights: Chaired by Executive Vice-President Roxana Mînzatu.
- **Economic Security:** Chaired by Commissioner Maroš Šefčovič.
- **Defence Union:** Chaired by Commissioner Andrius Kubilius.
- European Savings and Investments Union: Chaired by Commissioner Maria Luís Albuquerque.
- **Preparedness Union:** Chaired by Commissioner Hadja Lahbib.
- European Internal Security: Chaired by Commissioner Magnus Brunner.



- Water Resilience: Chaired by Commissioner Jessika Roswall.
- **Affordable Housing:** Chaired by Commissioner Dan Jørgensen.
- **Startups and Scaleups:** Chaired by Commissioner Ekaterina Zaharieva.
- **European Democracy Shield:** Chaired by Commissioner Michael McGrath.
- **Vision for Agriculture and Food:** Chaired by Commissioner Christophe Hansen.

The establishment of these Project Groups aligns with the Working Methods of the European Commission and reflects the Commission's political priorities as outlined in President von der Leyen's Political Guidelines. These groups will facilitate collaboration among Commissioners and associated services, ensuring consistency across different policy areas while respecting the decision-making process of the College.

## **Key Features:**

- **Focus:** Shaping initiatives, carrying out priorities, and ensuring consistency across different areas.
- **Duration:** Initially established for one year, with the possibility of renewal.
- Flexibility: New Project Groups may be established to address emerging priorities.

These Project Groups represent a proactive approach to addressing key challenges and advancing the European Union's strategic objectives.